Court Ready to Take Action against Sharif Family Sugar Mills The Lahore High Court has stopped close relatives of Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and his brother Punjab Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif from shifting five of their sugar mills to new locations.

They said under Section 3 of Punjab Industries (Control on Establishment and Enlargement) Ordinance, there was a restriction on establishment of industrial undertaking without provincial government’s permission, under which various notifications had been issued imposing restriction on establishing new sugar mills in the province.

The petitioners had said that Ittefaq Sugar Mills were owned by Nawaz Sharif, Hassan Nawaz Sharif, Hussain Nawaz Sharif, Maryam Nawaz, Kalsoom Nawaz and Hamza Shahbaz, among others. Haseeb Waqas Sugar Mills were owned by Haseeb Ilyas, Zakia Ilyas, Shahzadi Ilyas and other family members. Abdullah Sugar Mills were owned by Mian Mohammad Ejaz Miraj, Yasmin Riaz and other family members.